Senate Democrats who didn’t vote to block debate on the auto bailout bill.

Saturday, December 13th, 2008 @ 1:10 pm | Uncategorized

The four Democrats who voted ‘nay’:

-Montana Senator Max Baucus (opposed to a unrelated tax loophole slipped into the bill)
-Montana Senator Jon Tester (even after automaker CEOs agreed to is $1 salary proposition)
-Arkansas Senator Blanche Lincoln (wants the money to come out of TARP)
-Nevada Senator Harry Reid

The four Democrats that did not vote:

-Joe Biden (previously unknown senator from God-knows where)
-Ted Kennedy (“Health issues” apparently. Whatever.)
-John Kerry (Poland?)
-Oregonian Ron Wyden


6 Responses to “Senate Democrats who didn’t vote to block debate on the auto bailout bill.”

  1. John Deeth Says:

    Reid probably tactically switched and voted no so he could move to reconsider at a later date, it’s not unusual for the leader to do that on a losing vote (to move to reconsider you have to be on the winning side)

  2. network-ia Says:

    I thought the same but I was hoping that they’d do a better job at painting the Republican opposition as a bunch of cretins. Somebody wrote it on this blog before and they’re right i think the UAW has done a poor job at spinning this thing but I think the networks may just be too busy waiting for Obama to break down in tears over Blagojevich.

  3. Dana Says:

    You might ask a simple question: why is Joe Biden still a senator, if he isn’t going to be present to do his job? Governor Ruth Ann Minner has already appointed his replacement in the Senate, Senator Biden’s current Senate chief of staff, so it’s not like the seat would be vacant or go to a Republican; it’s going to the man Senator Biden wanted to have the seat.

  4. mike Says:

    Because Senate Democrats aren’t done letting the Republicans wave the Japanese flag long enough. Blago threw the plan off kilter. Last week was supposed to be “Republicans are anti-American” week but it didn’t work out that way because of Lego Hair.

  5. Dana Says:

    It turns out that, had all of the Democrats voted for cloture, they had the ten Republican votes they needed. Patterico checked the actual votes at the website, and found ten Republican senators who voted for cloture:

    Bond (R-MO), Yea
    Brownback (R-KS), Yea
    Collins (R-ME), Yea
    Dole (R-NC), Yea
    Domenici (R-NM), Yea
    Lugar (R-IN), Yea
    Snowe (R-ME), Yea
    Specter (R-PA), Yea
    Voinovich (R-OH), Yea
    Warner (R-VA), Yea

    But four Democrats voted against cloture, and four didn’t show up for the vote. One, Ted Kennedy, is understandable: he’s in poor health. But Joe Biden, who hasn’t resigned from the Senate even though he isn’t doing his job as a senator, was a no-show as well.

  6. Thomas Tallis Says:

    anybody who doesn’t use up his sick time whenever he likes after he’s already put in his two weeks’ notice is unamerican imo